# **COQUILLE SCHOOL DISTRICT 8**

Wednesday, May 8, 2019 Budget Committee Meeting 6:00 p.m. Coquille Jr/Sr High School, Library 499 W Central, Coquille, OR 97423

## ORDER

The Coquille School District held the First Budget Committee Meeting for the 2019-2020 school year on Wednesday, May 8, 2019. Board Chair Misty Thrash called the meeting to order at 6:00 p.m. and led in the flag salute. Board members present were Heather Echavarria, Cliff Wheeler, Roy Wright, Traci GeDeros, Matt Rowe and Steve Britton. Budget Committee members present were Andrew Simpson, Sheena Corbus, Fay Crawford, and Tyler Kinney. Budget Committee member Claresa Robeson was unable to attend. One position is currently vacant. Others present were Superintendent Tim Sweeney, Business Manager Teri Pointer and Board Secretary Stephanie Donaldson. A list of people in the audience is included as part of the minutes.

# APPROVAL OF AGENDA

• Roy Wright made a motion to approve the agenda. Traci GeDeros seconded the motion and it passed unanimously.

# ELECT BUDGET CHAIRPERSON

- Board Chair Misty Thrash asked for Board Chair nominations. Steve Britton made a motion to nominate Fay Crawford. Heather Echavarria seconded the motion and it passed unanimously.
- Board Chair Misty Thrash asked for Board Vice Chair nomination. Steve Britton made a motion to nominate Matt Rowe. Cliff Wheeler seconded the motion and it pass unanimously.

## PRESENTATION OF BUDGET MESSAGE

Superintendent Tim Sweeney presented the budget message.

#### DISTRIBUTION AND REVIEW OF BUDGET DOCUMENT

Business Manager Teri Pointer pointed out the significant change sheet included in the budget that was handed out.

The Budget Committee discussed the process for handling budget questions and agreed to meet on May 22, 2019 at 6:00 p.m. in the Coquille Jr/Sr High School Library for the Second Budget Committee Meeting.

#### ADJOURNMENT

Fay Crawford adjourned the meeting at 6:13 p.m.

Fay Crawford, Budget Chairperson